Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Thomas Edison lights up Ballybrit to land Galway Hurdle

Published 31/07/2014 | 17:19

Winning jockey AP McCoy with Thomas Edison in the winners enclosure after landing the Galway Hurdle
Winning jockey AP McCoy with Thomas Edison in the winners enclosure after landing the Galway Hurdle

Tony McCoy steered hot favourite Thomas Edison to a popular victory in the Guinness Galway Hurdle.

The Tony Martin-trained seven-year-old disappointed in the race last summer in atrocious conditions, but having warmed up for a second bid with victory on the Flat at the Curragh, he was a 7-2 market leader on faster ground.

Thomas Edison galloped through the 250,000 euro contest with panache and began to move into contention jumping the second flight from the finish.

He joined the front-running Fergal and the well-fancied Bayan rounding the home turn and the three were virtually in line at the top of the short straight.

However, Thomas Edison clearly had more to give than his rivals and after skipping over the final hurdle, he was pushed out to collect by three lengths.

Bayan ran a fine race to fill the runner-up spot, with The Game Changer and Hisaabaat third and fourth respectively.

JP McManus, Thomas Edison's owner, was winning the race for a first time.

He said: "He was a bit slowly away but he got a great run around under Tony and got the run of the race.

"Thankfully it all worked out well. I've never won the Galway Hurdle before. It was on my to-do list so I'm delighted.

"I think Tony had the horse in tremendous form so well done to everyone connected with him."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport