Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Thousands of racing fans bound for Cheltenham at Dublin airport

Published 10/03/2014 | 14:01

Thousands of racing fans, trainers, horse owners and jockeys will pass through the doors of Dublin Airport this week for Cheltenham.

Rory O'Callaghan from Rathcoole, Co Dublin goes every year to Cheltenham, and most of all he says he loves the good spirit of Cheltenham.

Cheltenham Festival is a four-day extravaganza for fans of jumps action in Britain, Ireland and France.

"It's bigger than Christmas," Mr O'Callaghan said.

At Dublin airport's Terminal 1, Johnny Luby and Jim Ryan from Tipperary joked that they hope to come back with more money than they're bringing over.

Horse owner Martin Mulvaney from Carrick-on-Shannon has had his horse Noble Inn trained by Willie Mullins.

"This is my fifteenth time going to Cheltenham and I was involved in a few horses through the years. I have a runner on Wednesday."

While trainer Michael Hourigan from Limerick admitted there will be stiff competition at the racing festival.

From left, Jonathon Fox with his Father Frank Fox both from Bray and David Colhoun with his father Eric Colhoun both from Cabinteely at Dublin Airport before boarding flights to go to the Cheltenham racing festival
From left, Jonathon Fox with his Father Frank Fox both from Bray and David Colhoun with his father Eric Colhoun both from Cabinteely at Dublin Airport before boarding flights to go to the Cheltenham racing festival
From left, Noel O Brien, Josh Byrne and Sean Barry all from Kildare at Dublin Airport before boarding flights to go to the Cheltenham racing festival
Ray and Brenda Minion from Kilkenny at Dublin Airport before boarding flights to go to the Cheltenham racing festival
Anne Hourigan and Michael Hourigan from Limerick at Dublin Airport before boarding flights to go to the Cheltenham racing festival
David McAndrew and Michael McAndrew both from Dungarvan at Dublin Airport before boarding flights to go to the Cheltenham racing festival

"He's up against it. He's not a bad horse," Mr Hourigan said.

"It's top class racing, all day everyday for the whole week."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport