Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Silver lining for Irish as Dermot Weld lands the Champion Bumper

Tom Peacock

Published 12/03/2014 | 17:46

Jockey Robbie McNamara celebrates on Silver Concorde after victory in the Weatherbys Champion Bumper during Ladies Day at Cheltenham Racecourse, Cheltenham. David Davies/PA Wire
Jockey Robbie McNamara celebrates on Silver Concorde after victory in the Weatherbys Champion Bumper during Ladies Day at Cheltenham Racecourse, Cheltenham. David Davies/PA Wire
Jockey Robbie McNamara celebrates on Silver Concorde after victory in the Weatherbys Champion Bumper during Ladies Day at Cheltenham Racecourse, Cheltenham. David Davies/PA Wire

Silver Concorde came with a wet sail up the hill to claim the Weatherbys Champion Bumper at Cheltenham.

  • Go To

Robbie McNamara had the Dermot Weld-trained 16-1 shot not too far off a good pace set by Black Hercules and delayed his move until after the turn for home.

The six-year-old was always travelling well and quickened to the front when given the office by McNamara.

Silver Concorde bounded up the hill to beat the Willie Mullins-trained 7-2 favourite Shaneshill by a length and a half with Joshua Lane a length and three-quarters away in third.

Weld said: "He did it well. He's a very decent horse and I knew the drying ground would suit him well.

"Robbie's a master craftsman and rode a beautiful race.

"This horse has had his problems. He's taken time to come to himself as he was big and immature, but he's got there.

"He'll make a super hurdler, but there might be a few races to win with him on the Flat first."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport