Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

AET

Wales WAL 0

Northern Ireland NIR 0

Ongoing

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Classy Hill too good in Foxhunter

Published 14/03/2014 | 17:46

Racegoers watch from the stands on the final day of the Cheltenham Festival.
Racegoers watch from the stands on the final day of the Cheltenham Festival.

Tammys Hill got on top close home to claim the CGA Foxhunter Chase at Cheltenham.

Held up for most of the race, the Liam Lennon-trained nine-year-old crept into contention under James Smyth from four out as Carsonstown Boy made the pace from the outset.

The long-time leader would not give in without a battle and he kept on for second place, three and a quarter lengths behind the 15-2 winner.

The well-fancied On The Fringe came with a threatening run but could not maintain his bid and finished third, a length and three-quarters away.

Smyth said: "Fantastic, he jumped brilliant. We've fancied him for three years!"

Lennon said: "It's unbelievable. Totally unreal.

"It's a great achievement for the Smyths. They bred this horse themselves and it's some achievement for James. He's 35 now and in his twilight years.

"I actually won a race on this horse's mother - so she must have been a good mare!

"I finished fourth in this race on a good horse called Joe Blake. I was coming towards the end of my career and probably should have won.

"I think this horse deserves a shot at a good pot now - maybe something like the Irish Grand National."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport