Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Cheltenham to undergo £45m facelift

Published 28/03/2013 | 14:24

Artist impression of redesign
Artist impression of redesign

CHELTENHAM racecourse plans to build a new grandstand complete with an upgraded royal box in a £45m makeover of the venue, home to one of the most prestigious festivals in jump racing, its owners said today.

  • Go To

 

The new grandstand, with capacity for 6,500 spectators, will replace a smaller 1920s block where private boxes including the one for the royals are located.

 

The Jockey Club, which has owned and operated the track in western England since 1964, said the investment was its biggest in any of its racecourses. The existing grandstand will be modernised as part of the work, scheduled for completion by 2016.

 

Held in March every year, the four-day Cheltenham Festival is one of the highlights of the jump racing season. It attracted aggregate crowds of more than 235,000 earlier this month.

 

Subject to planning permission, work will begin after next year's festival and the course will remain open for its normal racing programme during the improvements.

 

 Jockey Club Racecourse group managing director Paul Fisher said: "Cheltenham is not only one of the Jockey Club's crown jewels, we recognise it is the home of jump racing and one of the great theatres in British sport.

 

"It is vital we continue to invest in its appeal, the experience it offers and its success, for the good of British racing."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport