California Chrome ruled out of Royal Ascot run
California Chrome has been officially confirmed as a non-runner in the Prince of Wales's Stakes at Royal Ascot on Wednesday.
Last year's Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes winner was reported to be sore on Monday morning and trainer Art Sherman has now withdrawn him from his Group One engagement.
The four-year-old has been lodging at the Newmarket base of trainer Rae Guest, who said: "He's not going to run, he's got a badly bruised foot.
"He's been X-rayed and there's no damage, there's just a bit of pus and it will take a few days to come right. It's just a minor thing but it's very disappointing."
California Chrome was last seen finishing second in the Dubai World Cup in March and Guest is disappointed European fans will now miss out on seeing the American star on the track.
He said: "It's just one of those things, it's inconvenient timing and he will probably be back to 100 per cent in a couple of days.
"The main thing is that it's not life-threatening or anything, it could be much worse for the horse and while it's disappointing for us, the key thing is that the horse is OK.
"Everybody has put in a lot of work and was looking forward to seeing him run. It's a shame that European racing fans won't get to see him in action."