Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Bolger's Approach blows opposition away in 2,000 Guineas stroll

Tom Peacock

Published 04/05/2013 | 16:21

Dawn Approach eased to victory at Newmarket
Dawn Approach eased to victory at Newmarket

Dawn Approach ran out a fantastic winner of the Qipco 2000 Guineas at Newmarket to give trainer Jim Bolger his first win in the Classic.

Unbeaten during a champion juvenile season, Kevin Manning had the 11-8 favourite in the perfect position throughout alongside his market rival Toronado.

Richard Hughes was sending out distress signals on Toronado once Dawn Approach kicked on, however, and it was left to the 150-1 outsider Glory Awaits to chase him home but he was some five lengths away. Van Der Neer was third.

Dawn Approach had a pacemaker in the shape of Leitir Mor but they were drawn wide apart and Manning found himself alongside Hughes and Toronado as the race began to take shape.
 

Kevin Ryan's Glory Awaits was racing on his own in the middle of the track but was still in front with a furlong and a half to run.
 

That was when Dawn Approach moved up the gears, though, and the race was soon over as a contest.
 

Glory Awaits ran out of his skin to cling on for second while Van Der Neer passed his Richard Hannon stablemate Toronado on the line for third.
 

Paddy Power make Dawn Approach their 5-2 favourite for the Derby.

 

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport