Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Heineken Cup replacement close

Published 27/03/2014 | 07:27

An agreement over the tournament to replace the Heineken Cup is expected to be confirmed on Thursday
An agreement over the tournament to replace the Heineken Cup is expected to be confirmed on Thursday

European rugby bosses are expected to announce a final agreement on the tournament to replace the Heineken Cup on Thursday.

The 20-team tournament is expected to see six Aviva Premiership teams, six clubs from France's Top 14 competition and seven of the PRO12 sides qualify.

The final place would be taken by the winner of a play-off involving clubs from several competitions, including the second-tier tournament that is to replace the Amlin Challenge Cup.

There is also to be a new third-tier competition which is expected to run in September, from which two qualifiers would then take part in the second-tier tournament, opening it up to clubs from outside the Six Nations countries such as Georgia, Russia, Spain, Romania, Portugal and Belgium.

Press Association Sport understands an agreement is very close, and once signed all parties can then chase a resolution between broadcasters BT Sport and Sky, both of whom have indicated a willingness to agree a compromise TV rights deal.

Sky Sports managing director Barney Francis said earlier this month: "We are absolutely willing to take part in conversations that lead to a solution that is in the best interests of the game and for the fans. But it will take compromise and compromise between all parties."

European Rugby Cup, the governing body of the Heineken Cup, will be wound up in the summer.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport