Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

AET

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Gus Poyet dedicates dramatic win to Sunderland's 9,000 travelling fans

Published 22/01/2014 | 22:52

Sunderland's manager Gus Poyet reacts during their English Premier League soccer match against Southampton at the Stadium of Light in Sunderland, northern England, January 18, 2014. REUTERS/Nigel Roddis (BRITAIN - Tags: SPORT SOCCER) FOR EDITORIAL USE ONLY. NOT FOR SALE FOR MARKETING OR ADVERTISING CAMPAIGNS. NO USE WITH UNAUTHORIZED AUDIO, VIDEO, DATA, FIXTURE LISTS, CLUB/LEAGUE LOGOS OR "LIVE" SERVICES. ONLINE IN-MATCH USE LIMITED TO 45 IMAGES, NO VIDEO EMULATION. NO USE IN BETTING, GAMES OR SINGLE CLUB/LEAGUE/PLAYER PUBLICATIONS
Sunderland's manager Gus Poyet reacts during their English Premier League soccer match against Southampton at the Stadium of Light in Sunderland, northern England, January 18, 2014. REUTERS/Nigel Roddis (BRITAIN - Tags: SPORT SOCCER) FOR EDITORIAL USE ONLY. NOT FOR SALE FOR MARKETING OR ADVERTISING CAMPAIGNS. NO USE WITH UNAUTHORIZED AUDIO, VIDEO, DATA, FIXTURE LISTS, CLUB/LEAGUE LOGOS OR "LIVE" SERVICES. ONLINE IN-MATCH USE LIMITED TO 45 IMAGES, NO VIDEO EMULATION. NO USE IN BETTING, GAMES OR SINGLE CLUB/LEAGUE/PLAYER PUBLICATIONS

Sunderland boss Gus Poyet dedicated his side's dramatic Capital One Cup semi-final win over Manchester United to the club's long-suffering fans.

The Black Cats won a penalty shoot-out 2-1 after both sides scored at the end of extra-time as the match ended 2-1 to United.

"The feelings are for them," Poyet told Sky Sports 1, pointing to the visiting fans at Old Trafford

"A difficult season, nothing to enjoy, look at them, they deserve that. Let's see if we can go one more and win it."

Sunderland will be rank underdogs in the final against Manchester City, but, having knocked out Chelsea and now United, that is a status Poyet is happy with.

And asked if his side could win, the Uruguayan added: "No doubt, for sure."

Sunderland goalkeeper Vito Mannone, who saved the decisive penalty from Rafael, said: "Unbelievable, just unbelievable. I just want to celebrate with my team-mates.

"We deserved to get to the final."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport