Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Growise success for Carlingford Lough

Published 29/04/2014 | 20:07

Carlingford Lough races clear to win the Growise Champion Novice Chase
Carlingford Lough races clear to win the Growise Champion Novice Chase

Tony McCoy hit the Grade One target with a fine ride on Carlingford Lough in the Growise Champion Novice Chase.

  • Go To

Morning Assembly (7-4 favourite) and Don Cossack cut out much of the running, with the former taking a half-length advantage three from home.

Ruby Walsh arrived on the scene two out with Ballycasey seemingly full of running, but McCoy switched the John Kiely-trained Carlingford Lough to the inner and joined issue at the last, where Morning Assembly's chance was ended by a bad mistake.

McCoy's JP McManus-owned mount got away from it the better and with his rider in full flight, Carlingford Lough, winner of last year's Galway Plate and successful at the top level at Leopardstown's Christmas meeting, stayed on strongly for a four-and-a-quarter-length triumph.

Kiely said: "He is a very easy horse to train, once we discovered how to do it. He needs a little break after his races and he came good.

"The ground was perfect for him today, and we will see how he does next year. Next year will tell us a lot and he will be going for those conditions races.

"He deserves a summer break now."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport