Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Graham Rowntree: We don't want a reputation as plucky losers

Duncan Bech

Published 04/02/2014 | 15:04

England's Forwards Coach Graham Rowntree
England's Forwards Coach Graham Rowntree

Graham Rowntree insists England will head to Edinburgh for Saturday's RBS 6 Nations clash with Scotland determined to shed their "plucky losers" tag.

  • Go To

For two successive matches England have staged courageous fightbacks, only to fall short against New Zealand in the autumn and France in last weekend's 26-24 defeat in Paris.

The Calcutta Cup showdown had become a must-win encounter if the Six Nations title is to remain a goal and Rowntree is braced for a Scottish ambush at Murrayfield.

"We don't want to be the plucky losers. In the last two games now we've lost in similar circumstances and it can't happen again," England's forwards coach said.

"It was a very down dressing room in Paris and rightly so, but it's our job as coaches to get the players back up very quickly because we have another big challenge this week.

"I was delighted with our intensity in our breakdown work and our carrying. Our game involvement was also better than it's ever been.

"But we can't get away from the fact we've lost a game we should have won and that's still hurting.

"Scotland will be fed up themselves after losing to Ireland and will be waiting for us at Murrayfield.

"We've had a good look at that game and they'll fancy their chances against us."

England's scrum struggled at the Stade de France, conceding two penalties that were sent between the uprights in a match that was decided by only two points.

"We shipped six points at the scrum, so I'm not happy with our performance there. Again," Rowntree said.

"I've been looking at that a lot since the weekend. I can't have that. You just can't give those penalties away.

"You look at the things we can control. We have a duty as players and coaches to show the referees good pictures and be proactive.

"So we've looked at what we can do better in terms of our bindings and set-up."

The state of the Murrayfield pitch has been condemned as sub-standard, but Rowntree insists England prepare to play on all surfaces.

"There aren't many perfect pitches around. A lot of these stadiums have pitch issues - the Millennium Stadium, the Stade de France," he said.

"We have to get on with what we can control. We train on enough imperfect surfaces ourselves, believe me."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport