Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

REPORT

Wales WAL 1

Northern Ireland NIR 0

REPORT

Croatia CRO 0

Portugal POR 0

Ongoing

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Gordon grabs Group One glory

Published 29/03/2014 | 19:32

Gordon Lord Byron was victorious in Australia
Gordon Lord Byron was victorious in Australia

Gordon Lord Byron made a dream start to his Australian stint when winning the Group One George Ryder Stakes at Rosehill.

Tom Hogan's six-year-old landed the Betfred Sprint Cup at Haydock last year and was last seen finishing fourth in the Hong Kong Mile back in December.

Despite those recent Group One exploits, he was sent off an 18-1 shot under Craig Williams in the seven-and-a-half-furlong heat but he came with a powerful run after being settled in the early stages.

He swept to the front inside the final half-furlong to edge out Speediness by a short neck with El Roca a further three-quarters of a length away in third.

The run was a warm up for next month's inaugural Championship meeting, with Hogan having the option of tackling either the Doncaster Mile or the six-furlong TJ Smith Stakes at Randwick on April 12.

Hogan said: "It was great - a good achievement. It was a bit unusual using a Group One as a prep for another race, but it worked out and he won it well.

"It give us options for next month and we will make a decision in the next few days about which race to go for. Craig said he could go for either.

"It's great to win though and to break new ground."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport