USA exact revenge
Published 21/09/2015 | 02:30
US captain Juli Inkster urged her team to "stomp on" Europe and they did, fighting back to win a controversial Solheim Cup match yesterday.
The home team went into the last 12 singles holding a 10-6 lead, following unsavoury scenes over the non-concession of a short US putt, but the Americans rallied to win 14 1/2 to 13 1/2.
The US team was enraged when Alison Lee and Brittany Lincicome lost to Charley Hull and Suzann Pettersen by two holes. With the fourballs all square, rookie Lee mistakenly believed her short putt at the 17th had been conceded by the Europeans and when she scooped the ball up, the referee had to award the hole to Europe. The incident evoked memories of the men's Ryder Cup at Brookline in 1999 when Europe hit out after members of the home side celebrated Justin Leonard sinking a long-range effort by trampling all over the line of his Jose Maria Olazabal's putt.