Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Struggling Harrington in battle to make weekend

William S Callahan

Published 16/08/2013 | 05:00

FRESH from his US PGA disappointment, Padraig Harrington looks set to miss yet another cut at the Wyndham Championships after slumping to a first-round 73.

  • Go To

The three-time Major winner had been hoping for a good showing in Greensboro to boost his FedExCup position. He sits 129th in the FedEx Cup standings, four places outside of the qualification places for the play-offs, which begin with The Barclays next week.

However, there was precious little to be positive about yesterday as, starting on the 10th, he had three bogeys in his opening six holes.

He responded with a birdie at the par-four 17th, but any hopes of him getting back into contention were dashed by consecutive bogeys on the fourth and fifth holes. A birdie on his second last hole was of some consolation. And while a score of three-over-par wouldn't always be disastrous, the fact that he lies in a tie for 133rd out of 156 starters tells a greater story.

The early leader is Chris Stroud, who set the pace with a six-under-par 64. It would have been even better for the 31-year-old but for a dropped shot on the eighth – the penultimate hole of his round.

Stroud sits a shot clear of Sergio Garcia, Matt Jones, Robert Garrigus and Andrew Svoboda, who all carded 65s, while a superb start from Zach Johnson left him four-under after six holes.

Elsewhere, European Solheim Cup captain Liselotte Neumann may call the United States home but for the next three days, she will be in enemy territory. The Swede is looking to defend Europe's title with a first victory in America in the competition's 23-year existence.

On the possibility of recording a first win on American soil, she said: "That's why I took on this job. I like the challenge and trying to make some history here and become the first European team to win (in America)."

Neumann may have taken the safe option in appointing all-Swedish vice-captains in Annika Sorenstam and Carin Koch, but when it came to team selection, she made the bold move of picking 17-year-old Englishwoman Charley Hull – the youngest player in the event's history – after four runner-up places in just eight events in her debut season.

"Charley was on my Junior Solheim Cup team two years ago in Ireland and she was very impressive at just 15 and she's having a great year on the European Tour," said Neumann.

Solheim Cup,

Live, Sky Sports 2, 2.0, 7.30

Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport