Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Shane Lowry rampant as 6&5 win over Petterson puts him into last 16

Published 22/02/2013 | 18:04

Shane Lowry of Ireland hits his second shot on the first hole during the second round of the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship golf tournament in Marana, Arizona
Shane Lowry of Ireland hits his second shot on the first hole during the second round of the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship golf tournament in Marana, Arizona
Shane Lowry signs an autograph during practice prior to the start of the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship

Offaly's Shane Lowry is taking the Accenture World Matchplay Championship by storm after an incredible display saw him defeat Sweden's Carl Petterson 6&5 to advance to the last 16.

  • Go To

After yesterday's heroics saw him topple World number one Rory McIlroy, Lowry stepped up his performance level to beat the talented Swede in just 13 holes.

Lowry took command from the outset and was three up after eight holes and his superiority continued.

Lowry admitted afterwards that he wants to take on Graeme McDowell tommorrow declaring that the contest would be "a bit of craic".

Meanwhile, Rory McIlroy has admitted that he won't be panicking after yesterday's defeat.

"I was missing a lot of irons," he said. "I felt like I drew the ball really well and I hit it well off the tee. I just need to take advantage of the driving I have been doing. It is more a timing thing than anything else. Everything else was actually pretty good out there. I just need to go and work on them [the irons].

 

"I'm hitting the ball so much better off the tee, which is a positive. I'm also more comfortable around the greens. It shouldn't be a lot of work that I have to do, I just have to go to the range and have a look at it."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport