Sport Golf

Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley fails to lead by example at Welsh Open

Phil Casey

Published 29/08/2013 | 11:25

Paul McGinley
Paul McGinley

Captain Paul McGinley today struck the very first shot in the Ryder Cup qualifying race - and 10 minutes later carded the first bogey in the year-long process.

  • Go To

McGinley, who will lead Europe's quest for an eighth win in the last 10 biennial contests at Gleneagles next year, was in the first group out at 7:25am in the opening round of the ISPS Handa Wales Open at Celtic Manor.

 

With the Ryder Cup trophy on the first tee alongside him, the 46-year-old Dubliner found heavy rough with his drive and was forced to hack out onto the fairway, from where he was unable to save par.

 

Playing partner Espen Kofstad, who won the Challenge Tour last season, made a more impressive start with birdies at the first two holes to claim a share of the early lead with Finland's Mikko Ilonen and Italian Francesco Molinari.

 

Molinari played in the last two Ryder Cup victories and is the only member of the team responsible for the 'Miracle at Medinah' playing in Wales, with many of Jose Maria Olazabal's side contesting the lucrative FedEx Cup play-off events in the United States.

 

Starting from the 11th, Molinari and playing partner Ilonen had both birdied the opening hole and also picked up shots on the 12th, while the third member of the group, Tommy Fleetwood, had birdied the 11th.

 

Fleetwood won his maiden European Tour title in the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles on Sunday, beating Stephen Gallacher and Ricardo Gonzalez on the first hole of a sudden death play-off on the Centenary Course which will host the Ryder Cup next September.

 

McGinley got back to level par with a birdie on the fifth but remained three off the lead as Ilonen had carded his third birdie of the day on the 14th.

 

Molinari had dropped a shot on the 13th but holed his second shot on the short par-four 15th for an eagle two, only to drop a shot on the 16th to fall back to two under.

 

That was in a 10-way tie for second place alongside the likes of English trio Chris Wood, Danny Willett and Robert Rock, as well American Peter Uihlein who was celebrating his 24th birthday today.

 

Molinari, whose halved match with Tiger Woods at Medinah ensured Europe won the cup outright, was enduring a real rollercoaster round, running up a triple-bogey six on the 17th and then missing a tap-in on the first to take a double-bogey six there.

 

Ilonen had missed an almost identical putt moments earlier to also take six but bounced back with a birdie on the par-five second to lie two under, one off the lead now shared by Rock, Wood, Portugal's Ricardo Santos and Wales' Gareth Wright.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport