Sport Golf

Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Murray's top-ten hopes fade with disappointing final round

Chris Smart

Published 18/02/2013 | 04:00

Limerick's Pat Murray tied for 23rd at the Portuguese International Amateur Championship in Montado, near Lisbon, after a final round of 74 saw him finish on one-over-par.

It was his highest score of the four days, and Murray hoped for a little better after carding a 70 on day three in an event that was badly affected by fog.

The 2012 South of Ireland champion made a promising start with a birdie on the third, but bogeys on the seventh, ninth, 10th and 13th saw him drop out of the top 10 before a birdie on the 17th.

Home-grown star Goncalo Pinto took the title with an 11-under-par 277, finishing two ahead of England's Jerome Titlow, while another Englishman, Harry Casey, was tied for third with Mike Miller of the US.

Portugal's team of Pinto, Joao Carlota and Miguel Gaspar also secured the team title on 417, seven better than Denmark and 10 better than England.

Had he matched his total for day three, Murray would have found himself three-under, in joint 11th.

He was the only Irishman to make the final round's play, with The Island's Gavin Moynihan, Mattheu McAlpin (Royal Portrush), Alex Gleeson (Castle), Eddie McCormack (Galway) and Belvoir Park's Matthew Wylie all having missed the cut.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport