Tuesday 1 December 2015

McIlroy picks up another end-of-season award

Mark Garrod

Published 19/12/2012 | 16:01

Rory McIlroy
Rory McIlroy

ANOTHER day, another award for both Rory McIlroy and Roger Chapman.

They have landed Player of the Year awards from the Golf Writers Association of America along with women's world number three Stacy Lewis.

The announcement comes 24 hours after McIlroy won the European Tour Golfer of the Year title and 53-year-old Chapman, surprise winner of back-to-back majors on the US senior tour, was given honorary life membership of the European circuit.

McIlroy received 190 of the 194 votes in the GWAA poll, three going to FedEx Cup winner Brandt Snedeker and one to Tiger Woods, while Chapman had 60% support in the senior ballot and American Lewis almost 79% in the women's category.

The trio will be formally honoured at the GWAA annual awards dinner in Augusta on the eve of next year's Masters.

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport