Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Lowry: I will look Rory in the eye on the first tee and know I can beat him

William S Callahan

Published 20/02/2013 | 04:00

Shane Lowry signs an autograph during practice prior to the start of the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship
Shane Lowry signs an autograph during practice prior to the start of the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship

IT'S 'Paddy's Day' in the Arizona Desert as four golfers today give the Accenture Match Play World Championship a special all-Ireland flavour.

Shane Lowry tops the bill in a match with his friend Rory McIlroy which has captured the imagination of the sporting public in the US and at home.

Graeme McDowell and Padraig Harrington meet in another fascinating first-round encounter at the Ritz-Carlton Resort.

But for Lowry (25), pulling off a surprise match play win against world No 1 McIlroy would be "one of the great stories of my career so far".

Lowry is delighted to be facing McIlroy, not Tiger Woods, as last week seemed likely. "I've never met Tiger and he's been a hero of mine, so that would've been daunting," Lowry said. "This isn't going to be an easier match but I can stand on that first tee, look Rory in the face and know I've a good chance of beating him."

The Clara man chuckled when he was asked if he and McIlroy had any similarities. "I used to have curly hair," he shrugged. "I don't think there's many, to be honest. Actually, I don't know if there's any ... Rory plays golf!"

McIlroy was a prodigy as a toddler, while Lowry took up the sport seriously only in his early teens, so he has a little catching up to do on his former Irish amateur team-mate.

Yet today's match could be tight.

"It's match play," world No 66 Lowry said. "Whoever holes the putts is key. From 15 feet and in is going to be vital. Hole a few at the right time and maybe I can put Rory under some pressure.

"I've always known Rory would become the best golfer in the world and I'm really buzzing about this match. Yet I've nothing to lose. Very few people expect me to win but I'll be gunning for it."

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport