Monday 23 January 2017

Limerick's young guns are fired up for Fred Daly win

Published 25/08/2016 | 02:30

Limerick with the Fred Daly Trophy
Limerick with the Fred Daly Trophy

Limerick's young guns cruised to a 4-1 win over Athenry to clinch a sensational victory in the Fred Daly Trophy national final at Galway Golf Club.

  • Go To

​Up against a formidable Kilkenny side in the morning semi-final, Ivan Morris's charges saw off the Leinster champions 4-1. Ciaran Vaughan and Ross Fitzgerald ran up 4&3 wins against Kevin Power and James Everard respectively to lay the foundations of a huge win.

In the afternoon final Limerick faced Connacht's Athenry, who pulled off a fine victory against the boys of Holywood Golf Club from Belfast.

At one stage Limerick were up in all five matches and ran out comfortable 4-1 winners, with victories for Sean Enright, Vaughan and Luke O'Brien in the top three matches enough for the Munster champions.

Fred Daly Trophy, Galway Golf Club

Semi Finals: Athenry 4 Holywood 1: (Athenry names first) Michael Sheil bt Ben Graham 3&2; Allan Hill lost to Tom McKibbin 2&1; David Kitt bt Keaton Morrison 3&2; Cillian Lawless bt Patrick Greene 2&1; Louis O'Hara bt Seb Ewing 1 hole.

Limerick 4 Kilkenny 1 (Limerick names first) Sean Enright bt Harry Duggan 2&1; Ciaran Vaughan bt Kevin Power 4&3; Luke O'Brien halved with Jeff Kealy; Morgan Hanley halved with Richard Duggan; Ross Fitzgerald bt James Everard 4&3

Final: Limerick 4 Athenry 1. Enright bt Michael Shiel 3&2; Vaughan bt Michael Kennelly 3&2; O'Brien bt Kitt 2&1; Hanley halved with Lawless; Fitzgerald halved with O'Hara.

Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport