Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL 1

Portugal POR 1

Ongoing

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Leinster to take action on slow-play scourge

Karl MacGinty

Published 18/03/2014 | 02:30

Paul Lawrie offer will offer the Strategic Review Committee insight into pace of play on the European Tour and the Green-i system
Paul Lawrie offer will offer the Strategic Review Committee insight into pace of play on the European Tour and the Green-i system

AS slow play once again hogs the global limelight, Leinster golf officials must be applauded for tackling the game's greatest scourge head-on.

  • Go To

The Green-i electronic pace-of-play management system will be in operation at the province's premier championship this summer, the East of Ireland at Baltray, following a successful trial at the Leinster Mid-Amateur last season.

The workings of the high-tech system will be explained at a special seminar at Carton House Hotel next Monday when branch officials will present a wide-ranging strategy document, 'Roadmap 2017', to representatives of all 170 affiliated Leinster clubs. A comprehensive action plan focusing on 10 initiatives needed to develop and improve the game over the next four years has been formulated, following an intensive survey of more than 8,000 golfers and discussions with key stakeholders.

Slow play was identified by a sizeable majority of the participants in the survey as one of the greatest issues facing the sport today and Leinster Golf is expected to get tough on the issue.

The strategy was formulated by the Strategy Review Committee, chaired by Aidan Marsden and including Paddy Murphy, John McKiernan, John Roche and executive officer Teresa Thompson.

Representatives from the GUI, the Confederation of Golf in Ireland and Leinster Golf will participate in a Q&A session with delegates next Monday, while Peter Lawrie will offer an insight into pace of play on the European Tour and the Green-i system.

Sparks flew at the US Tour's Valspar Championship as Kevin Na, a notorious slowcoach, received a tongue-lashing from Brent Henley, caddie to Robert Garrigus, after both players received a 'bad time' during Saturday's third round.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport