Sport Golf

Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Leinster Golf survey results

Karl MacGinty

Published 25/03/2014 | 02:30

Results of the Leinster Golf survey.

  • Go To

CLUB MEMBERSHIP CATEGORY

Adult: 89pc

Members of men's committee: 8pc

Junior: 2pc

Student/intermediate: 1pc

AGE CATEGORY

Under 10: 0.7pc

10-18: 2pc

19-23: 0.8pc

24-29: 2pc

30-39: 11pc

40-49: 20.5pc

50-65: 44pc

66+: 19pc

YOUR HANDICAP

Up to 5: 5pc

6-12: 26pc

13-20: 46pc

21-28: 22pc

No official h'cap: 1pc

HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN A GOLF CLUB MEMBER?

Less than a year: 2pc

1-5 years: 12pc

6-10 years: 14pc

11-20 years: 25pc

Over 20 years: 47pc

HOW OFTEN DO YOU PLAY?

Less than once a week: 17pc

Once a week: 38pc

Twice or more a week: 45pc

What negatively affects your enjoyment of golf?

Slow play: 90pc

Cost of golf: 48pc

Difficulty getting on timesheet: 39pc

Competition format: 23pc

Other factors mentioned include:

* poor weather, including rain and the way it affects course condition

* breaches of course etiquette

* incorrect handicaps

* dress code

* poor play

* (golf) politics/ poor committees

Have you ever considered giving up golf? If so, why?

Never considered it: 59pc

Cost: 25pc

Health or injury: 15pc

Time: 11pc

Not enjoying: 11pc

Family/home: 11pc

Work: 6pc

Study: 2pc

Various other: 19pc

Have You Played GUI Inter-club Competitions?

Yes: 64pc No: 36pc

Are They Well Organised?

Yes: 97pc No: 3pc.

Are There Too Many Inter-club Competitions?

Yes: 22pc. No: 78pc.

Suggestions from Survey Participants:

1 Address slow play.

2 The option of (long) distance membership is affecting clubs and should be addressed by GUI.

3 Amalgamate with ILGU.

4 Major drive required to get young people playing.

5 Improve individual golfers' contact with Leinster Golf.

6 Branch should communicate directly with club members.

7 Organise a delegate conference for all registered clubs.

8 Standardise course measurements.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport