Sport Golf

Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Irish women go for experience as Mehaffey misses out

Published 31/07/2014 | 02:30

Olivia Mehaffey has missed out on a place in the Irish team for the Espir Santo World Women's Team Championships in Japan. Photo: Brendan Moran / SPORTSFILE
Olivia Mehaffey has missed out on a place in the Irish team for the Espir Santo World Women's Team Championships in Japan. Photo: Brendan Moran / SPORTSFILE

The Irish selectors have gone for experience in choosing their three-player side for the Espirito Santo World Women's Team Championships in Japan in September.

  • Go To

Irish Champion Paula Grant from Lisburn, along with Skerries stalwart Maria Dunne and Mary Doyle from the Heath, will fly the flag from September 3-6 in Karuizawa.

That means there is no place for teenage sensation Olivia Mehaffey from Royal County Down, who is named as reserve. Dave Kearney will manage the side.

The team has also been announced for the women's internationals at Aberdovey in North Wales on September 17-19 and there are no surprises.

The Trio chosen for Japan are included alongside Amy Farrell, Mehaffey, Jean O'Driscoll, Chloe Ryan and Sinead Sexton, with Sarah Cunningham and Aedin Murphy as reserves. The Curragh's Sinead Keane is captain.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport