Sport Irish Open

Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Rory McIlroy ready for a journey into the unknown at Fota Island

Published 16/06/2014 | 18:48

Rory McIlroy
Rory McIlroy

World number six Rory McIlroy goes into the unknown this week when he competes in the Irish Open at the Fota Island Resort in County Cork.

  • Go To

The Northern Irishman, who shot a closing three-over-par 73 to finish joint 23rd at the U.S. Open on Sunday, has never been to Cork before.

"I don't know Fota at all," McIlroy told the tour website (www.europeantour.com) on Monday. "It's going to be good.

"Irish Opens are always great events. They are always so well supported and so well attended so I'm looking forward to it."

Compatriot Graeme McDowell, who was tied for 28th at Pinehurst, North Carolina on Sunday, echoed the views of his Ryder Cup team mate.

"The Irish Open is always special to us as Irish players," said the world number 22. "Everyone is going to be very excited and very pumped up - it should be great."

Fota Island should provide a less difficult test for the two former U.S. Open champions than Pinehurst.

"I vaguely remember watching the Irish Open on TV when it was there in 2002," said McIlroy.

"It's a parkland golf course which will be nice after last week at Pinehurst where I made only nine birdies in four rounds.

"I'm a little disappointed I didn't do better but I'm really happy with where my game is right now and it'll be the first time playing in Europe since I won the BMW PGA Championship (last month)," added the twice former major winner.

"I'm going there third in the Race to Dubai so there's a lot to play for."

The Irish Open, which has a prize fund of €2m, begins on Thursday

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport