Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Hotshot Irish trio get call-up to take on Europeans

Published 20/08/2014 | 02:30

Gary Hurley has been named in the Great Britain and Ireland team to take on the Continent of Europe in next week's St Andrews Trophy in Sweden. Photo: Matt Browne / SPORTSFILE
Gary Hurley has been named in the Great Britain and Ireland team to take on the Continent of Europe in next week's St Andrews Trophy in Sweden. Photo: Matt Browne / SPORTSFILE

Irish Triple Crown heroes Paul Dunne and Gary Hurley, both 21, feature on the Great Britain and Ireland team to meet the Continent of Europe in next week's St Andrews Trophy in Sweden.

Another member of the Irish squad that romped to victory at the Home Internationals, Gavin Moynihan, was earmarked for a place on the nine-man side but The Island's Walker Cup ace couldn't travel because of college commitments in Alabama.

Hermitage hotshot Rowan Lester (18), who powered through to last Sunday's final at the British Boys in Prestwick, features on the Jacques Leglise Trophy team, which also plays Europe in Barseback on Friday and Saturday week.

Greystones man Dunne, a star at Graeme McDowell's Alabama alma mater AUB, and West Waterford prospect Hurley, shining on a Paddy Harrington Scholarship at Maynooth, both sizzled this summer.

Olivia Mehaffey and Kevin LeBlanc both opened with one-over-par 73s in the Youth Olympics at Nanjing's Zhongshan International Golf Club.

The Island's British Junior Open champion LeBlanc (16) was 19th in the 32-strong field, seven behind leaders Marcus Kinhult of Sweden and Australia's Brett Coletta on a day illuminated by a hole-in-one from Canada's Tony Gil at the 164-yard 
third.

Royal Co Down starlet Mehaffey (16) shared 11th and was just four off the pace in the girls' event (also 54 holes).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport