Sport Golf

Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Hall and Meadow hold out as Americans run riot in Curtis Cup

Published 07/06/2014 | 02:30

Stephanie Meadow, along with Georgia Hall, succumbed 2&1 to their US rivals on the opening day of the Curtis Cup. Photo: Jeff Gross/Getty Images
Stephanie Meadow, along with Georgia Hall, succumbed 2&1 to their US rivals on the opening day of the Curtis Cup. Photo: Jeff Gross/Getty Images

Ireland and Great Britain got off to the worst possible start in defence of their Curtis Cup crown as they lost all three fourballs on the opening day at the St Louis Golf Club in Missouri.

  • Go To

Stephanie Meadow and Georgia Hall succumbed 2&1 to Mariah Stackhouse and Emma Talley in the top match.

Meadow, Ulster's world No 7 who plans to turn professional after this event, and 18-year-old Hall, who succeeded Meadow as Amateur champion last year, lost the first hole but squared the match with a birdie at the third.

But Stackhouse and Talley birdied three of the next five holes to assume a commanding lead.

Remarkably, Meadow's Alabama college mate Talley, the 2013 US Women's Amateur champion, and Stackhouse, the first African-American player in Curtis Cup history, played to the equivalent of eight-under par 63, with the usual match-play concessions.

The other two fourball games were won 4&3 by the home team, world No 2 Alison Lee and Kyung Kim beating Annabel Dimmock and Gemma Dryburgh, and Annie Park and Ally McDownald overpowering Bronte Law and Charlotte Thomas.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport