Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Gers down Linfield

Published 10/04/2013 | 22:06

Chris Hegarty opened the scoring for Rangers
Chris Hegarty opened the scoring for Rangers

Rangers repaid Linfield for helping out in their hour of need by handing them a narrow 2-0 friendly defeat at Ibrox.

  • Go To

The Belfast side travelled across the Irish Sea last night - their first trip to Glasgow's south side - after having stepped in to host a fundraising match last May when the former Scottish champions found themselves mired in a financial crisis that eventually led to their liquidation.

Now reformed but playing in the Irn-Bru Third Division, Rangers proved too strong for the Northern Irishmen as they secured victory with goals from Chris Hegarty and youngster Andrew Murdoch.

Light Blues boss Ally McCoist paid his part-time visitors full respect by putting out a strong starting line-up, but Rangers struggled to get out of first gear in the early stages, mustering only an Ian Black drive on the half-hour mark before surviving a scare as Matthew Tipton pulled a decent chance wide.

It took until three minutes before the half-time break for the hosts to net as Hegarty found the corner of the goal from Fraser Aird's deep cross.

The second half was interrupted by a raft of substitutions.

Linfield captain Peter Thompson did have the ball in the net after 65 minutes only to see his big moment ruined by an offside flag.

However, Rangers wrapped it up with the last kick of the game as midfielder Murdoch's deflected 25-yard drive deceived Alan Blayney and found its way home.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport