Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Kildare and Dublin enjoy victories in opening 2014 fixtures

Published 05/01/2014 | 16:52

Paul Hudson, Dublin, in action against Damien Dolan, Westmeath. Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup, Group D, Round 1, Westmeath v Dublin, Cusack Park, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath.
Paul Hudson, Dublin, in action against Damien Dolan, Westmeath. Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup, Group D, Round 1, Westmeath v Dublin, Cusack Park, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath.

Defending champions Kildare opened their O’Byrne Cup with a win today, while there were also wins for Dublin and Meath in their first outings of 2014.

  • Go To

Kildare enjoyed a comfortable 4-24 to 0-12  win over Athlone IT in Newbridge this afternoon as Jason Ryan took charge of the Lilywhites for the first time.They took full advantage of a strong wind in the first half to put Athlone to the sword, racing into a 1-11 to 0-0 lead after 23 minutes. They held a 17 point lead at half-time and though Athlone tacked on a few late consolation scores, the defending champions were far too strong.

Ciaran Kilkenny was the match-winner as Dublin claimed victory over Westmeath in today’s O’Byrne Cup opener.

Jim Gavin’s charges ran out winners by 0-12 to 0-11 in their Group D clash at Cusack Park in Mullingar after holding a 0-6 to 0-5 lead at the interval. Kilkenny, who was one of two survivors – the other being captain Stephen Cluxton – from last September’s All-Ireland winning starting side – hit over the vital score to ensure Dublin narrowly prevailed.

In group C, first half goals from Michael Newman and Dalton McDonagh helped Meath to a six point victory over DIT at  Páirc Tailteann in Navan. The students brought the gap down to three in the second half before McDonagh grabbed his second.

In the other game in the group Wicklow had the bare minimum to spare over IT Carlow with a Dean Odlum proving to be the all-important score.

Group A

Wexford 2-13 v Laois 0-11

Offaly 0-13v UCD 0-12

Group B

Longford 1-19 v Carlow 2-7

Kildare 4-24 v Athlone IT 0-12

Group C

Meath 4-11v Dublin IT 1-14

Wicklow 1-09 v IT Carlow 0-11

Group D

Dublin 0-12 Westmeath 0-11

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport