Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP


England ENG

Iceland ISL


Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Tyrone secure maiden crown

Published 08/06/2014 | 02:30

Niall Ring, Fingal, in action against Seán Óg Grogan, Tyrone
Niall Ring, Fingal, in action against Seán Óg Grogan, Tyrone
Alan Morris, Fingal, in action against Matthew Mulgrew, Tyrone. Nicky Rackard Cup Final, Fingal v Tyrone
Damien Casey, Tyrone, reacts after picking up an injury before being substituted.

Tyrone held on in a gripping finish to win the Nicky Rackard Cup for the first time.

Tyrone 1-17 Fingal 1-16 - Nicky Rackard Cup final

Skipper Damien Casey led his side to victory with an eight-point haul as the Red Hands showed just how much progress has been made under new manager, Mattie Lennon.

Tyrone's early flourish saw them ease ahead with scores from Casey, Gerard Gilmore and Tiernan Morgan. But five points from Fingal's leading scorer JM Sheridan brought them level after 23 minutes.

Tyrone's Christopher Cross scrambled the ball over the line from close range after 'keeper Hilary Murray-Hession failed to hold Morgan's sideline cut. Sheridan and Dave Smyth powered over points as Fingal went level again with Dean Kelly also sprinting through for an eye-catching score. Gilmore's third point edged Tyrone ahead by 1-8 to 0-10 at the break.

Conor Grogan, Matthew Mulgrew and Casey put Tyrone eight clear. But Fingal fought back as Danny Butterley and Colm Foley slotted over scores and Sheridan steered over a '65'. And when Dave Smyth plundered a goal in stoppage-time, just a point separated the sides, but Tyrone held on.

Scorers: Tyrone: D Casey 0-8 (4fs), G Gilmore 0-4, C Cross 1-0, M Mulgrew, T Morgan, C Grogan, M Winters, C McNally 0-1 each. Fingal: JM Sheridan 0-10 (6fs, 2 '65'), D Smyth 1-2, C O'Flynn, D Kelly, D Butterley, C Foley 0-1 each.

Tyrone: J Devlin; C McNally, R Devlin, M O'Gorman; M Grogan, S Donnelly, A Kelly; M Winters, G Fox; C Grogan, T Morgan, C Cross; M Mulgrew, D Casey, G Gilmore. Subs: M Devlin for Winters, M Devlin for Winters, D Marshall for Gilmore.

Fingal: H Murray-Hession; P Coyne, N Ring, A Morris; B Kelly, D Vaughan, I Kennedy; D Hattie, P Sheridan; D Kelly, A Richardson, P Daly; C O'Flynn, S Smyth, JM Sheridan. Subs: D Buttlery for Richardson, C Foley for Kelly, C Foley for D Kelly.

Referee: D O'Driscoll (Limerick).

Sunday Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport