Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Tailor from rivals Cork made Tipp panel's suits

Published 05/09/2014 | 02:30

Independent TD Michael Lowry posing with members of the Tipperary panel in their All-Ireland final suits
Independent TD Michael Lowry posing with members of the Tipperary panel in their All-Ireland final suits

Tipperary's senior hurling team were kitted out in suits made in Co Cork.

The revelation comes after controversial TD Michael Lowry confirmed he had "co-sponsored" the formal wear ahead of the team's All-Ireland final hurling clash against Kilkenny on Sunday.

Director of P&D Clothing Trading as Suits Distributors John Barrett confirmed that management at the Tipperary County Board contacted him, and that he travelled to Semple Stadium in Thurles almost a fortnight ago to fit the suits.

Secretary of the county board Tim Floyd denied it had approached the company, but claimed there were no suitable suit manufacturers in Co Tipperary.

Speaking on Tipp FM, local TD Alan Kelly said the controversy was "unfortunate" and added the "politicisation of the issue on the week of the All-Ireland is something that shouldn't have happened".

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport