Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Empire strikes back as traditional superpowers crush brief revolution

Michael McCarthy

Published 30/07/2014 | 02:30

Kilkenny captain Lester Ryan lifts the Bob O'Keeffe Cup after the Leinster final. Photo: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE
Kilkenny captain Lester Ryan lifts the Bob O'Keeffe Cup after the Leinster final. Photo: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE

How could a revolution last only a year? Was it merely a rebel uprising quashed after some early victories?

Were the establishment just propping them up, to make the fall all the harder?

Speaking of rebels, it always felt a little uneasy that Cork had such a part in a supposed breakthrough season of 2013. That's the Cork of Ring and Barry-Murphy, them of the 30 All-Irelands and 50 Munster titles.

Anyway, there's four teams left in the 2014 hurling championship and it's the four teams atop of the game's honour roll.

So much for a revolution.

Limerick, and their 41-year drought, remain the only threat to the status quo. They're certainly live contenders but it just feels more likely that we're looking at a last three of Kilkenny, Tipperary and Cork.

Of course, there's always a chance the conservative majority wanted this all along. Much like politics, they never truly like the establishment, but they're uncomfortable without it.

Clare may have been everyone's darlings in 2013 but by 2014 they had won a 'soft All-Ireland' and had notions above themselves. In 2013, Dublin were 'robbed' not to make an All-Ireland final. In 2014, they never had 'the wrists' to match the traditional counties.

We'll see next summer if any of last year's changes are deep-rooted, but for now, it's as you were. 2013? A glitch in the Matrix.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport