Friday 24 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald involved in tunnel bust-up

Declan Whooley and Aisling Crowe

Published 05/07/2014 | 20:02

Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald
Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald

Davy Fitzgerald was involved in a tunnel bust-up with a local journalist following Clare’s pulsating draw with Wexford in the All-Ireland hurling qualifiers in Cusack Park today.

All-Ireland hurling champions Clare looked set to relinquish their title until a thrilling finish at Cusack Park that saw the Banner draw level and force extra-time, which failed to separate the sides.

Following the gripping encounter in Ennis, Fitzgerald was involved in a heated exchange with a member of the press.

Clare Champion reporter Peter O’Connell was after conducting post-match interviews in the tunnel following the conclusion of the qualifier when he became embroiled in a verbal altercation with the Clare manager.

An irate Fitzgerald was seen remonstrating outside the Clare dressing room with O’Connell before Pat Fitzgerald, Davy’s father and long serving Clare County Board secretary stepped in to diffuse the situation.

It is understood that Fitzgerald was unhappy with media coverage of his team from the paper, and the journalist in question.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport