Saturday 21 January 2017

Austin Gleeson upsets Seamus Callanan to scoop Hurler of the Year award

Published 04/11/2016 | 19:50

Waterford hurler Austin Gleeson was a surprise winner of the GAA/GPA All Star Hurler of the Year award at the Convention Centre in Dublin tonight.

  • Go To

Tipperary star Seamus Callanan was widely tipped to land the prize after a spectacular man of the match display in the All-Ireland final win over Kilkenny that saw him notch 0-9 from play from a 0-13 haul.

Read more: Revealed: No place for Tipperary captain but All-Ireland champions still lead the way in 2017 All Star selection

Gleeson's all-action displays saw him become the third player after fellow Waterford men Dan Shanahan (2007) and Tony Browne (1998) to win Hurler of the Year without winning that year's All-Ireland title.

The Waterford star often wore number six but popped up all over the field - even continuing to excel after picking up a gruesome ear injury.

Gleeson also scooped the Young Hurler of the Year honour, making him the second hurler to win both awards in the same year after Clare's Tony Kelly in 2013.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport