Wednesday 18 October 2017

Walsh pushes Galway over line

Galway 0-9 Mayo 0-7 Connacht U-21 FC semi-final

Both sides had a man sent off, but Shane Walsh edged the battle of the danger men with Mayo's Cillian O'Connor at Tuam Stadium as the Tribesmen booked a place in the final.

Walsh kicked two excellent points from play in the last six minutes to give Galway a three-point cushion, but O'Connor came very close to forcing extra-time when his blistering late free was deflected over the bar to ensure the Galway goal remained intact.

Both sides finished the first-half with 14 men as Mayo's Conor Horan picked up his second yellow card after 20 minutes, while Galway corner-back Liam Silke follow him to the line seven minutes later for a similar offence.

Referee Paddy Neiland showed a total of nine yellows and two red cards in the first-half, but after the restart the game flowed as Walsh and O'Connor did battle.

By the break Galway had worked themselves into a 0-4 to 0-3 lead after playing with the wind at their backs, but O'Connor levelled the match with a free after the restart.

O'Connor added another point nine minutes from time to pull Mayo within a point after a Galway surge, but Walsh powered on in the closing stages with two points from play and the goal-line heroics to stop O'Connor's free clinched a date in the decider in two weeks for the 2011 champions.

Scorers – Galway: S Walsh 0-6 (2fs), A Varley, C Mulryan, D Comer 0-1 each. Mayo: C O'Connor 0-4 (3fs), E Regan 0-2 (2fs), D Kirby 0-1

Galway: T Healy; L Silke, J Shaughnessy, E Walsh; M Loughnane, D Burke, P Varley; F O Curraoin, D Comer; C Mulryan, S Moran, P Cunningham; S Walsh, A Varley, G Kelly. Subs: C Rabbitte for Cunningham (h-t), S Maughan for Kelly (38), E O hEochaidh for Moran (53), I Burke for A Varley (57), G Canavan for Comer (59).

Mayo – P Mannion; B Harrison, N Freeman, A Butler; C Horan, C Walsh, E Collins; D Kirby, M Forde; A Gallagher, E Regan, F Durkan; D Coen, C O'Shea, C O'Connor. Subs: J Shaughnessy for Gallagher (42), E Jordan for Durkan (44), E Lavin for Coen (49), K Rutledge for Regan (59).

Ref – Paddy Neilan (Roscommon).

Irish Independent Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport