Tuesday 6 December 2016

Reilly fires Gaels to 11th straight final

Cavan Gaels 1-13
Mullahoran 0-10
Kingscourt Stars 0-16
Ramor Utd 1-8

Published 13/09/2010 | 05:00

champions Cavan Gaels will compete in their 11th successive final after a workmanlike victory over Mullahoran Dreadnoughts.

  • Go To

The turning point came just after the restart when Enda King combined with Martin Dunne and Dominic Reilly for Reilly to rifle to the net for a 1-6 to 0-5 lead.

SCORERS -- Cavan Gaels: S Johnston 0-7 (0-4f), D Reilly 1-0, N Murray 0-3, G Duffy, P Smith, C McClarey 0-1 each. Mullahoran: E O'Reilly 0-6 (0-6f), Philip Brady 0-3 (0-2f), Paddy Brady 0-1.

Cavan Gaels -- E Elliott; M Leddy, C Collins, D McCormack; G Duffy, E Reilly, P Smith; E King, D Reilly; A Forde, M Lyng, N Smith; S Johnston, N Murray, M Dunne. Subs: C McClarey for M Dunne; D Meehan for N Smith; K Crotty for D McCormack; P O'Donnell for N Murray.

Mullahoran -- E Brady; J Reilly, S Smith, D King; D Smith, K Brady, M Brady; C Shiels, D Sheridan; Paul Brady, Paddy Brady, T Nannery; R Lynch, Philip Brady, E O'Reilly. Subs: E Dalton for D King; PP Galligan for Paddy Brady; D Brady for M Brady.

Kingscourt will contest the Cavan SFC final for the first time in 11 years after brushing aside Ramor.

Four points from Barry Reilly steered Kingscourt to a 0-9 to 0-5 half-time lead. Ramor's hopes plummeted when Anton O'Reilly got a second yellow on 43 minutes.

SCORERS -- Kingscourt: B Reilly 0-7 (0-4f), R McCormack 0-6 (0-2f), A Clarke, P Tinnelly, C Smith 0-1 each. Ramor: K Soden 1-5 (0-3f), R Keating 0-2, J Brady 0-1.

KINGSCOURT-- B McCormack; D McMahon, T Wakely, K McCabe; B Tully, A Clarke, JP O'Reilly; C Smith, G Sheenan; B Reilly, P Smith, J McMahon; D Martin, R McCormack, T Malone. Subs: S Og Gargan for D Martin; P Tinnelly for J McMahon; S Russell for K McCabe; S Gray for T Wakely; N McCabe for P Smith.

Ramor Utd -- A Farrelly; S Connolly, G Daly, S Cole; R Farrelly, D Farrelly, A Cahill; S Monaghan, A O'Reilly; P Fitzsimons, K Soden, J Brady (0-1); S Cadden, R Keating, A Cole. Subs: A O'Connell for D Farrelly; J Hopkins for P Fitzsimons; E Daly for S Cole; C Murphy for S Connolly.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport