Tuesday 17 October 2017

Loman's hit high notes to leave Castle' in ruins

St Loman's, Mullingar 1-15 Castledaly 0-8

St Loman's claimed the title for the fifth time with a victory over Castledaly in Mullingar
St Loman's claimed the title for the fifth time with a victory over Castledaly in Mullingar
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

St Loman's, managed by Luke Dempsey, who guided Moorefield to success in Kildare in 2013 and 2014, claimed the title for the fifth time with a fully deserved victory over a disappointing Castledaly in Mullingar.

The sides were tied at 0-1 each when Offaly man Ken Casey rounded off a fine move with a great shot to the roof of the Castledaly net in the seventh minute.

Some four minutes later, Jason Daly pulled off a great save to keep out Paul Kelly's goalbound effort at the other end.

Westmeath players Paul Sharry and John Heslin were regularly to the fore for the Mullingar side, who were full value for their seven-point lead at the interval (1-7 to 0-3).

Castledaly started the second half with a converted free by MJ McLoughlin but John Donnellan's charges never looked likely to eat into St Loman's advantage.

Sharry continued to dictate the play and he also converted a brace of 45s with great aplomb.

Indeed, the margin of defeat for the underdogs would have been greater had goalkeeper Paddy Golden not pulled off two great saves from Heslin in the 38th and 42nd minutes.

St Loman's looked by far the sharper side as they mounted wave after wave of attacks, and they could even afford the luxury of some wayward shooting in the final quarter.

Scorers - St Loman's, Mullingar: K Casey 1-1; J Heslin 0-4 (1f); P Sharry 0-3 (two 45s); S Dempsey, K Reilly 0-2 each; C Reilly, A Gaffney, P Dowdall 0-1 each. Castledaly: L Dolan (3f), B Kelly (1f) 0-3 each; P Holloway, MJ McLoughlin 0-1 each.

St Loman's, Mullingar - J Daly; G Grehan, S Flynn, J O'Toole; G Glennon, P Dowdall, D Whelan; J Heslin, P Sharry; D Windsor, A Gaffney, K Lynam; K Casey, K Reilly, S Dempsey. Subs: C Reilly for Windsor (39), G Hickey for Dempsey (51), R O'Toole for Lynam (53), N O'Toole for Dowdall (55), C Kilmurray for Casey (56), D Rushe for Whelan (56).

Castledaly - P Golden; J Warburton, E Kelly, L Fitzpatrick; MJ Kelly, A Stone, D Heavin; P Holloway, N Duffy; G Duffy, B Kelly, D Kelly; L Dolan, MJ McLoughlin, P Kelly. Subs: D Stone for D Kelly (h-t), E Fleming for G Duffy (40), S Fitzpatrick for McLoughlin (53).

Ref - B Keena (Ballynacargy).

Irish Independent

Independent.ie Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform Independent.ie to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website Independent.ie

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport