Thursday 8 December 2016

Laois hit dramatic winner to edge past Wexford

Laois 0-18 Wexford 0-17

Published 06/07/2014 | 16:05

Billy Sheehan of Laois in action against Wexford's Michael Furlong
Billy Sheehan of Laois in action against Wexford's Michael Furlong

A late point from Niall Donoher that sailed high over the black spot proved to be the decisive score as Laois held on for a 0-18 to 0-17 win over Wexford in a thrilling encounter in Wexford Park to keep their latest odyssey through the qualifiers on course.

  • Go To

Wexford looked to be in the driving seat as the game entered the final furlong as the Model County led 0-17 to 0-15 with six minutes.

However two points from frees from sub MJ Tierney along with Donoher's last minute strike snatched the victory for Laois.

The game was played at a frantic pace from start to finish with both sides taking turns to attack. There was only a point between the teams at the end of a wide open and free flowing first-half with Laois going to the break holding a 0-11 to 0-10 lead.

In a keenly fought-affair there was little between the teams until Laois made a barnstorming finish to snatch victory.

Scorers for Laois: John O'Loughlin 0-4; Donie Kingston 0-4 (0-3f); Niall Donoher 0-3; MJ Tierney 0-2f; Colm Begley 0-1; Conor Meredith 0-1; Ross Munnelly 0-1; Damien O'Connor 0-1; Kevin Meaney 0-1

Scorers for Wexford: Ciaran Lyng 0-5; Ben Brosnan 0-4 (0-2f, 0-1f); PJ Banville 0-3; James Holmes 0-1; Paddy Byrne 0-2; Graeme Molloy 0-1; Robert Tierney 0-1.

LAOIS: Graham Brody; Padraig McMahon, Denis Booth, Peter O'Leary; Robbie Kehoe, Paul Begley, Colm Begley; Kevin Meaney, John O'Loughlin; Conor Meredith, Billy Sheehan, Stephen Attride; Ross Munnelly, Donal Kingston, Niall Donoher. Subs: Damien O'Connor for Denis Booth (19mins); MJ Tierney for Damien O'Connor (BC) (53mins)

WEXFORD: Shane Roche; Robert Tierney, Graeme Molloy, Conor Carty; Michael Furlong, Brian Malone, Adrian Flynn; Daithi Waters, Paddy Byrne; Tiarnan Rossiter, PJ Banville, James Holmes; Ciaran Lyng, Ben Brosnan, Kevin O'Grady. Subs: Michael O'Regan for Tiarnan Rossiter (47mins)

Referee: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow)

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport