Tuesday 17 October 2017

Kelly's double strike sees off battling Wicklow

Kildare 2-16 Wicklow 0-7

The isolated Wicklow full-back line was under pressure but did nullify the threat for the rest
of the half as their forwards found form.
The isolated Wicklow full-back line was under pressure but did nullify the threat for the rest of the half as their forwards found form.
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Leinster champions Kildare eventually eased past Wicklow but not without the Garden men getting within a point after 35 minutes and dominating periods of the match.

Jimmy Hyland and Ciaran Kelly were potent threats throughout and had five points between them by the 15th minute. The isolated Wicklow full-back line was under pressure but did nullify the threat for the rest of the half as their forwards found form. Conor Byrne won and converted two frees while Dan Kelly kicked a lovely point on the turn in a crowded area but poor kick-passing and handling stunted Wicklow's chances.

They began the second half well with three unanswered points, goalkeeper Mark Jackson adding another two placed balls to his first-half '45, as the Wicklow crowd got behind the team but Kildare responded through points from Brian McLoughlin and Ciaran Kelly. Kelly then scored two goals in the final 15 minutes kill off any Wicklow hope.

Scorers - Kildare: C Kelly 2-4, J Hyland 0-5 (3f), S Doran, D Kelly, B McLoughlin, J Robinson, P Nash 0-1 each. Wicklow: M Jackson 0-3 (2 '45, 1f), C Byrne 0-2 (2f), C O Shea, D Kelly 0-1 each.

Kildare - L Mullins; D Shaw, M Dempsey, J O'Toole; T Archbold, T Connolly, S Doran; A Masterson, D Marnell; C Costigan, D Kelly, N Murphy; C Kelly, B McLoughlin, J Hyland. Subs: J Robinson for N Murphy (24), P Woodgate for C Costigan (51), S Kavanagh for A Masterson (53), P Nash for C Kelly (53), J Gibbons for M Dempsey (60), M Lawler for J O'Toole (60).

Wicklow - M Jackson; T Kearns, T Maher, A Curran; F O'Shea, S Kearon, J Cotter; J Bellamy, C Kelly; J Murphy, P Kelly, D Fitzgerald; D Kelly, C Byrne, J Doyle. Subs: Cormac O Shea for J Murphy (h-t), J Kelly for J Doyle (44), S Gregory for P Kelly (48), J McCall for C Byrne (55), Ciaran O Shea for A Curran (61).

Ref - S Johnson (Louth)

Rohan heroics in vain as Dubs progress

Dublin 2-14 Offaly 1-7

Second-half goals from Aaron Bradshaw and Seán Bugler proved pivotal as Dublin eventually overcame Offaly by ten points at Parnell Park.

The Dubs controlled matters for the large part and would have added to their goals tally put for a wonderful display by Barry Rohan in the Offaly goal.

Rohan saved a 41st-minute penalty from Conor Hynes in addition to thwarting Kevin Callaghan on three occasions but those saves proved in vain.

The hosts enjoyed a 0-8 to 0-3 interval lead with Callaghan and Tom Keane kicking two points from play apiece and they increased their lead within two minutes of the restart following a well-worked goal by Bradshaw.

Points followed through Evan Comerford, Callaghan and Hynes but Offaly received a lifeline in the 45th minute as Micheál Mooney arrowed a shot beyond Comerford.

Conor Lynam and Shane O'Brien added points soon after to offer the visitors hope but their fate was sealed as Bugler converted a 53rd-minute penalty.

Scorers - Dublin: S Bugler 1-1 (1-0 pen), C Hynes (3f), T Keane, K Callaghan 0-3 each, A Bradshaw 1-0, C Lennon 0-2, M Donnelly, E Comerford ('45') 0-1 each. Offaly: M Mooney 1-0, S O'Brien (1f), C Lynam (1f) 0-2 each, E Farrell, D Fleming (f), C Johnson 0-1 each.

Dublin - E Comerford; R Shaw, N Doran, C Smith; C Lennon, J Holland, M Tighe; N Nolan, M Donnelly; J Madden, S Bugler, A Bradshaw; T Keane, K Callaghan, C Hynes. Subs: K Murray for Tighe (17, BC), D O'Brien for Madden (h-t), A Kelly for Donnelly (35), D Lacey for Murray (51), E Fitzpatrick for Nolan (55), P O'Flaherty for Callaghan (58).

Offaly - B Rohan; R Hynes, D Kavanagh, J Quinn; K Hartnett, S Geoghegan, D Molloy; M Mooney, S Molloy; S O'Brien, C O'Neil, A Delaney; C Johnson, D Fleming, E Farrell. Subs: K Higgins for Hartnett and C Lynam for Johnson (37), L Gavin for O'Neil (46), S Farrell for Fleming (53), D Norris for E Farrell (58), R Galbraith for Delaney (60).

REF - S Mulhare (Laois)

Indo Sport

Independent.ie Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform Independent.ie to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website Independent.ie

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport