Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

AET

Wales WAL 0

Northern Ireland NIR 0

Ongoing

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Gardai could investigate ugly scenes at the Gaelic Grounds

Eoghan McNeill

Published 01/09/2014 | 16:13

The GAA and Gardaí are set to investigate the ugly scenes which occurred in the closing stages of Saturday's All-Ireland semi-final replay between Kerry and Mayo.

Angry Mayo fans invaded the pitch following the final whistle at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick, forcing referee Cormac Reilly and his officials to sprint to the dressing room.

Gardaí had to physically restrain a number of fans who tried to engage Reilly following the match, while one Mayo supporter made it on to the pitch during play and attempted to confront the Meath referee.

It took six stewards to remove Mick Barrett, Castlebar, from the field of play, who said afterwards he "wanted to know what the referee was at."

Television cameras picked up his daughter unsuccessfully trying to stop him from entering the pitch.

"All that was wrong with me was the referee. I don't know how some of it was let go.

"It wasn't any specific calls, but just the general play," he said.

A mass brawl had broken out in the second period of extra time, Kieran Donaghy receiving a yellow card for his part in the scuffle, while Mayo forward Cillian O'Connor was sent off for a petulant kick.

Kerry overturned a 2-5 - 1-5 halftime deficit to win 3-16 - 3-13, setting a final date with Donegal.

Limerick GAA officials maintain they are satisfied with their hosting of the game, attended by just over 36,000.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport