Tuesday 17 October 2017

Freeman sends Roscommon packing

IT Sligo 1-7
Roscommon 1-6

Alan Freeman's late free floored Roscommon as IT Sligo snatched victory in their Connacht FBD Insurance League opener yesterday.

Stephen Coen's impressive haul of 1-3 in a low-scoring encounter was crucial for the students at their Ballinode ground yesterday.

Roscommon had the better of the opening quarter to lead by 1-2 to 1-1, with both teams dispatching penalties inside the first six minutes: Senan Kilbride struck first for the visitors, with Coen hitting back.

The hosts, though, squeezed in front by half-time, with points from Eugene Keating and Coen putting them 1-3 to 1-2 ahead.

Roscommon dominated much of the proceedings after the interval, but three unanswered points -- frees from Kilbride and Ger Heneghan and a Colm Garvey effort -- was a poor return for their possession. They should have been ahead by much more than two points -- 1-5 to 1-3 -- on 49 minutes.

IT Sligo came back into the game forcefully in the closing period and flurry of three points in a six-minute spell -- a Coen free and scores from Sean Kelly and Freeman -- propelled them back into a 1-6 to 1-5 lead again.

Heneghan did level matters again with a 57th-minute free for Roscommon. However, the home side claimed the win courtesy of Freeman's free a minute later.

SCORERS -- IT Sligo : S Coen 1-3 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), A Freeman 0-2 (0-1f), E Keating, S Kelly 0-1 each. Roscommon: S Kilbride 1-1 (0-1f), G Heneghan 0-2 (0-2f), C McHugh, K Higgins , C Garvey 0-1 each.

IT Sligo -- A Faherty (Galway, capt); D Reynolds (Leitrim), B Gilleran (Longford), S Boyle (Donegal); C Greene (Donegal), G Reynolds (Leitrim), K Cawley (Sligo); D Givney (Cavan), E Keating (Cavan); G Gaughan (Sligo), A Costello (Sligo), S Kelly (Mayo); S Coen (Sligo), S Henry (Sligo), D Cummins (Galway). Subs: A Freeman (Mayo) for Henry (35 mins) S Ryder (Fermanagh) for Kelly (55 mins), C Murrin (Donegal) for Gaughan (55 mins).

Roscommon -- G Claffey; S McDermott, M Killilea, P Duignan; S Purcell (capt), C Garvey, J Rogers; M O'Carroll, P Freeman; J Connaughton, B Higgins, K Higgins; C McHugh, S Kilbride, G Heneghan. Subs: D Kearney for Killilea (19 mins), T Kelly for Connaughton (37 mins), D Hussey for Kilbride (59 mins).

Ref -- R McBrien (Leitrim).

Irish Independent

Independent.ie Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform Independent.ie to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website Independent.ie

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport