Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)


Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA


Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL


Fitzmaurice names three debutants for Kerry's Clare opener

Published 18/06/2014 | 02:30

Paul Geaney, Kerry, has never started a championship game
Paul Geaney, Kerry, has never started a championship game

Kerry have named one of their most inexperienced championship teams in modern times for their first game against Clare in Sunday's Munster semi-final.

  • Go To

Manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice hands debuts to three players – goalkeeper Brian Kelly, corner-back Paul Murphy and half-forward Stephen O'Brien – while, two more, the Geaney cousins from Dingle, Paul and Michael, have never started a championship game.

Fionn Fitzgerald will captain the side as the only starting representative from county champions Dr Crokes.

Killian Young is also recalled after sustaining a horrific ankle injury preparing for last year's All-Ireland semi-final against Dublin.

Young missed the entire league campaign, but is named at centre-back. The bench is backed up with experience, however, with Kieran Donaghy recovered form a dislocated shoulder sustained seven weeks ago and his fellow veterans Aidan O'Mahony and Donnchadh Walsh also included.

Interestingly, Marc ó Sé is selected at full-back, despite playing most of his league football at half-back.

David Moran and Anthony Maher from the midfield partnership after a promising league, while Byran Sheehan is restored to centre-forward.

As expected James O'Donoghue is not in the side, but Declan and Darran O'Sullivan are both included in attack.

Kerry – B Kelly; P Murphy, M O Se, S Enright; P Crowley, K Young, F Fitzgerald; A Maher, D Moran; Darran O'Sullivan, B Sheehan, M Geaney; S O'Brien, Declan O'Sullivan, P Geaney.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport