Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Dublin in the clear over 'bite' in Leinster final

Meath in no mood to pursue matter as CCCC rule out action

Published 23/07/2014 | 02:30

Meath's Mickey Burke hauls Eoghan O'Gara of Dublin away after the two clashed in an off-the-ball incident during the Leinster SFC final. Photo: Ashleigh Fox / SPORTSFILE
Meath's Mickey Burke hauls Eoghan O'Gara of Dublin away after the two clashed in an off-the-ball incident during the Leinster SFC final. Photo: Ashleigh Fox / SPORTSFILE

The GAA has moved quickly to close the case on Sunday's Leinster football final biting allegation after receiving a submission from Meath yesterday.

It is understood that Meath considered the relevant detail in referee Padraig Hughes' report and were not interested in pursuing the matter. Hughes had written in his report that Meath's Mickey Burke told him he had been bitten during a 62nd-minute fracas.

The GAA's Central Competition Controls Committee (CCCC) wrote back to Meath yesterday evening to inform them the matter was closed because there was insufficient evidence to continue.

The allegation came to light just after Sunday's heavy defeat for Meath when their manager Mick O'Dowd returned to the media centre where he had just given a press conference to inform those present that one of his defenders – Burke – was being treated for bite marks.

His public airing of the allegation so soon after the match surprised many in both counties. Burke underwent precautionary injections in Navan hospital on Sunday but it is understood he did not want the matter pursued.

There was no mood either among senior Meath officials to take the matter any further.

To pursue the matter, the CCCC would have needed full co-operation from Meath and Burke if the case history of a previous allegation made against a Dublin player after a league game with Donegal in April 2013 was anything to go by.

The player in question, Kevin O'Brien, was cleared because the case "was not proven" when Patrick McBrearty did not turn up at a hearing to give evidence.

It was the third biting allegation made against a Dublin player in the last 15 months, but this time there will be no disciplinary probe.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport