Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL


Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR


Croatia CRO

Portugal POR


Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL


Germany GER

Slovakia SVK


Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL


Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP


England ENG

Iceland ISL


Donegal manage to hold off late attack from Roscommon

Donegal 0-10 Roscommon 1-15

Published 03/08/2014 | 02:30

John Campbell, Donegal, in action against Evan McGrath, Roscommon
John Campbell, Donegal, in action against Evan McGrath, Roscommon
Luke Carty, Roscommon, in action against John Campbell, Donegal
2 August 2014; Stephen McBrearty, Donegal, in action against Ronan Raftery, Roscommon. Electric Ireland GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship, Quarter Final, Donegal v Roscommon, Markievicz Park, Sligo. Picture credit: Matt Browne / SPORTSFILE

DONEGAL withstood ferocious late pressure from Roscommon to scrape their way into the All-Ireland minor football semi-finals. Donegal led by six points with 15 minutes remaining after struggling early with eight wides, but Noel Gately's 47th-minute goal ignited Roscommon.

Donegal didn't score in the last quarter, but Declan Bonner's team just about did enough as Cian Mulligan's four points from wing-back proved vital.Hubert Darcy's point ensured a nervous finale.

Roscommon went in search of a goal, but Evan McGrath saw his net-bound effort in added time blocked by man of the match Mulligan as Donegal prevailed.

Scorers - Donegal: C Mulligan 0-4, J Campbell 0-3 (2f), M Carroll, J Brennan, L Connor (f) 0-1 each. Roscommon: N Gately 1-0, K Smyth 0-3f, C Callinan, H Darcy 0-1 each

Donegal: D Rodgers; D Monagle, C Gillespie, C Kelly; C Mulligan, T McClenaghan, A McClean; N Harley, C McGonigle; E Gallagher, L Connor, M Carroll; J Brennan, J Campbell, S McBrearty. Subs: E O'Donnell for McClean (h-t), C Bonner for Harley (48), C O'Boyle for Carroll (51), S McMenamin for Campbell (56), C Doherty for Brennan (56).

Roscommon: S Mannion; J Connaughton, E McGrath, E Fallon; K Beirne, F Lennon, L Carty; C Murray, R Raftery; C Callinan, B Stack, K Bannon; H Darcy, K Smyth, N Gately. Subs: B Kelly for Callinan (41), D Connaughton for Bannon (51), J Gannon for Carty (56).

Referee: C O'Hagan (Tyrone).

Sunday Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport