Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

AET

Wales WAL 0

Northern Ireland NIR 0

Ongoing

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Clare win with 19 points to spare against Carlow

Published 13/07/2014 | 16:01

Seán Collins, Clare, in action against Benny Kavanagh, Carlow. GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 2B, Carlow v Clare, Dr Cullen Park, Carlow. Picture credit: Dáire Brennan / SPORTSFILE
Seán Collins, Clare, in action against Benny Kavanagh, Carlow. GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 2B, Carlow v Clare, Dr Cullen Park, Carlow. Picture credit: Dáire Brennan / SPORTSFILE

Clare eased into tomorrow morning's qualifier draw with a facile 4-26 to 2-13 victory over Carlow at Dr Cullen Park.

Carlow came here on the back of their first qualifier victory in nine years but a repeat of that success was never on the card today.

Clare led by 2-15 to 1-6 at the break after 35 minutes to forget for the Carlow footballers.

Podge Collins, who won't be playing championship hurling again this year, was a constant threat as were the rest of his forward department and they hit six unanswered point between the ninth and 21st minutes to take control.

Ciaran Moran's goal for the hosts got them back to within three points but that was as close as they got as Clare hit 1-3 in quick succession with Rory Donnelly grabbing the goal.

It could have been worse for Anthony Rainbow's charges but Andy O'Brien produced a terrific save from Shane Brennan's penalty.

Clare did grab a second goal before the interval through Brennan and they led by12 points.

Podge Collins was next to grab a goal for Clare as the game lost all shape and scores began to rain in.

David Bambrick grabbed a goal for Carlow with Podge McMahon scoring a fourth for the Banner as they ran out winners by double scores.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport