Saturday 23 September 2017

Brian McIver brings back big guns to face Mayo

Derry manager Brian McIver
Derry manager Brian McIver
Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

DERRY have made the expected changes to their team to play Mayo in Sunday's Division 1 Allianz NFL semi-final. The Oak Leafers put out virtually a second-string side against Mayo in the final round of group games last week because they had already qualified.

Brian McIver last night named a full-strength outfit which includes just two players – Oisin Duffy and and Emmet McGuckin – who started in Castlebar last weekend. Their only one significant absence is James Kielt, who is out with a quad muscle injury.

Limerick's joint hurling managers, Donal O'Grady and TJ Ryan, have trimmed their squad to 32 as preparations intensify for the June 1 championship clash against Tipperary at Semple Stadium.

Limerick's league performances were sharply criticised and led to a meeting with the managers and county board officers. Omitted from the league panel are Darragh Kennedy, Darragh Kennedy, Richie English, Cathal McNamara, Paudie Ahern and Niall Kennedy.

DERRY (SF v Mayo) – T Mallon; O Duffy, C McKaigue, D McBride; K Johnston, G O'Kane, SL McGoldrick; F Doherty, Patsy Bradley; C McFaul, M Lynch, E Lynn; B Heron, E McGuckin, C O'Boyle.

OFFALY (SH v Kerry) – Conor Slevin; N Wynnem G Healion, J Rigney; C Parlon, C Egan, B Harding; K Connolly, Ciaran Slevin; J Bergin (capt), D Currams , C Mahon; B Carroll, S Cleary, S Quirke

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport