Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Exclusive: Sky Sports' GAA viewership slumps to 14,700

Published 16/06/2014 | 15:40

From left: Sky Sports presenter Brian Carney with hurling analysts Jamesie O’Connor and Ollie Canning, and GAA anchor Rachel Wyse in their studio before the Kilkenny v Offaly game at Nowlan Park
From left: Sky Sports presenter Brian Carney with hurling analysts Jamesie O’Connor and Ollie Canning, and GAA anchor Rachel Wyse in their studio before the Kilkenny v Offaly game at Nowlan Park

Sky Sports GAA viewership has more than halved in seven days, new figures reveal.

An average of 14,700 viewers tuned in to see Dublin overcome Wexford in Saturday's Leinster hurling semi-final at Wexford Park, a drastic drop from the 32,000 average they had for Kilkenny's facile victory over Offaly.

When you consider that 13,943 people went through the turnstiles at Wexford Park, as many people went to the game as watched it on Sky.

The figure of 14,700 does not include people who watched the game in pubs, or those who tuned in from the UK.

The Dublin-Wexford game was competing with the rugby international between Ireland and Argentina and Costa Rica versus Uruguay in the World Cup.

Sky Sports will broadcast their first gaelic football encounter when Galway meet Sligo in their Connacht football semi-final this Saturday.

According to BSkyB, the AC Nielsen figures only reflect the average audience for the live TV broadcast of the game viewed in residential households in standard definition.

They do not include the thousands of households across Ireland who watched the game on Sky Sports 3 in High definition.

Nor do they include, pubs, clubs/hotel viewing across Ireland.

In addition, there were many other ways to watch the game live via mobile, tablet and online which are not included in the figures. For example, the figures do not include those who viewed the match via Sky Go or Sky Sports mobile tv.

Sky said today it is pleased with the extremely positive reactions from customers and others so far for their GAA partnership.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport