Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


O'Flynn hails rising tide at All-Ireland launch

Published 18/06/2014 | 02:30

Louise O'Hara (Dublin), Leanne Fennelly (Kilkenny), Aoife Kelly (Offaly), Anna Geary (Cork), Lorraine Ryan (Galway), Kate Kelly (Wexford), Sinead Cassidy (Derry), Eimear Considine (Clare) and Sabrina Larkin (Tipperary) at the launch of the Liberty Insurance Camogie Championship
Louise O'Hara (Dublin), Leanne Fennelly (Kilkenny), Aoife Kelly (Offaly), Anna Geary (Cork), Lorraine Ryan (Galway), Kate Kelly (Wexford), Sinead Cassidy (Derry), Eimear Considine (Clare) and Sabrina Larkin (Tipperary) at the launch of the Liberty Insurance Camogie Championship

Chief executive Joan O'Flynn insists the game "has never been stronger" as the association officially launched their championship in Croke Park yesterday.

The last decade has seen an incredible surge in interest in the game, with more then 600 clubs now in operation and a 25pc growth in club memberships nationwide.

And, in their 110th year, they are determined to build on that popularity and showcase the game to a wider audience through their 'Our Game, Your Game' campaign.

"It's 110 years, so it's time for taking stock and seeing where we are at in the game," O'Flynn said. "Really, the game has never been as strong as it is now. That challenges us to get out there and promote it to a wider audience and bring people in.

"Our Game, Your Game is very much us reaching out to the wider sporting public after 110 years and saying, 'Guys we are on the move here, you are missing out, there is massive skill, athleticism and drama available at these games and we want you to be part of that, we want to share that with you.'

"No more than camogie, women's sport has never been as strong either and we want to be part of that change and leading that change."

Camogie chiefs also announced the introduction of their 'Cairde Camogie' pass which grants access to all rounds of the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland championship up to the All-Ireland final for €40. The championship kicks-off on Saturday with All-Ireland champions Galway among those in action.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport