Sport Gaelic Football

Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)


Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA


Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL


staunton carnacon star

Published 28/11/2011 | 05:00

A TALLY of 1-9 from Cora Staunton helped Carnacon win the this title for a fourth time at Ballymahon, Co Longford yesterday.

  • Go To

Trailing only when Orlagh Egan got the game's first score for Na Fianna in the fourth minute, Carnacon were on top throughout the pitch.

Na Fianna managed to get to within four points, 2-8 to 2-4, after Laura Walsh's 47th-minute goal. However, that was to prove to be their last score, Staunton responding with four late points to ensure Carnacon would not be denied.

Two points from Staunton and another from Fiona McHale saw the winners responding quickly to Egan's opener for Na Fianna. They then struck for a well-worked goal as Staunton set up Aoife Brennan, who finished emphatically.

Staunton added a super point and had a chance of a goal from the penalty spot after Michelle McGing was fouled -- but fired wide.

By half-time they led 1-7 to 0-2 and in the second half Staunton's calming influence ensured Carnacon pulled further clear to take the title.

Scorers -- Carnacon: C Staunton 1-9 (4f), F McHale 0-3, A Brennan 1-0. Na Fianna: O Egan 1-2, L Walsh 1-0, A O'Donnell, C McDermott 0-1 each.

CARNACON -- M Higgins; N Hurst, N Tierney, S McGing; M Corbett, C McGing, A Loftus; C Egan, M Carter; M McGing, F McHale, D Hughes; N Beegan, C Staunton, A Brennan.

NA FIANNA -- S Turnbull; E Cassidy, L O'Sullivan, S Quinn; A Cushen, B O'Donnell, C O'Hara; A O'Donnell, C McDermott; M Nevin, N Doherty, L Walsh; M O'Gorman, B Finlay, O Egan. Subs: N Stapleton for O'Gorman (26), L Collins for Cushen (40), A Nolan for Nevin (56).

Ref -- MJ O'Keeffe (Cork)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport