Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL


Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR


Croatia CRO

Portugal POR


Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL


Germany GER

Slovakia SVK


Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL


Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP


England ENG

Iceland ISL


O'Carroll on double to sink Faithful

Laois 3-11 Offaly 2-13

Published 20/02/2013 | 04:00

THREE fortunate goals enabled Laois to overcome Offaly at O'Moore Park and set up a second-round date with Wicklow.

Evan O'Carroll (17) netted a brace as the Offaly rearguard failed to deal with high, probing balls. With Evan Costello punishing the visitors from frees, Laois led 2-6 to 0-7 at half-time.

Peter Cunningham tried to drag Offaly back into the game but, just as they had Laois back in their sights, Kevin McGrath pounced for a goal after goalkeeper Mark Langtry failed to deal with another high ball.

In a fiery encounter that produced nine yellow cards, Offaly captain David Hanlon was sent off late on for a second yellow-card offence.

SCORERS – Laois: E O'Carroll 2-0, K McGrath 1-1, E Costello 0-4 (4f), A Ryan, D Dunne (1 '45', 1f) 0-2 each, P Kingston, P McEvoy 0-1 each; Offaly: P Cunningham 0-6 (2f), C Hurley 1-1 (0-1f), P McPadden 0-3 (3f), D Hanlon 1-0 (pen), A McDonagh, B Cushen, S Cullen 0-1 each.

OFFALY – M Langtry; E Rigney, D Hogan, J McPadden; D Hanlon, D Kelly, P Foy; C McNamee, E Carroll; S Cullen, P Cunningham, A McDonagh; P McPadden, C Hurley, S Hannon. Subs: J O'Connor for Hogan (21), L Kelly for McNamee (25), B Cushen for S Hannon (h-t), J Maher for Cullen (40), S Doyle for McPadden (50)

LAOIS – G Brady; M Dowling, M O'Halloran, S Attride; C Lennon, P McEvoy, D Dunne; A Ryan, M Campion; A Farrell, L McGovern, K McGrath; E O'Carroll, E Costello, P Kingston. Subs: A Campion for Dowling (16), J Farrell for Farrell (50), J Brennan for Lennon (50), J Campion for O'Carroll (60), S Murphy for McGrath (60).

REF – B Cawley (Kildare).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport