Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


O Dubhain points the way for Dhuibhne

PS Chorca Dhuibhne 0-13 Dls, Macroom 1-8

Published 18/02/2013 | 04:00

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne remain on course for a second consecutive Munster Colleges SFC title after a battling second-half performance saw off De La Salle at Knocknagree.

Having gone in with a 0-6 to 0-4 half-time lead after playing with the strong breeze, the Dingle school – coached by Kerry manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice – looked in trouble when points from Pa Lucey (two) and James Moynihan put Macroom in front early in the second half.

But Chorca Dhuibhne responded strongly as Pádraig Ó Dubháin and Tom Ó Súilleabháin converted crucial frees, and when captain Éanna Ó Conchúir scored a pair of excellent points in the closing stages, their lead was 0-13 to 0-8.

Macroom, who were beaten in last year's final by Corca Dhuibhne, gave themselves late hope when Peter Kelleher fisted an injury-time goal, but they could not force another score.

Chorca Dhuibhne began well as Ó Dubháin kicked three early frees, and despite missing some chances they led 0-6 to 0-1 as half-time approached.

Two Lucey points and one from Seán O'Sullivan cut the gap to two by half-time, but Chorca Dhuibhne found another gear to advance to a final meeting with St Brendan's, Killarney.

Scorers – Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne: P Ó Dubháin 0-8 (5f), T Ó Súilleabháin (2f), É Ó Conchúir 0-2 each, P Breathnach 0-1. De La Salle, Macroom: P Lucey 0-5f, P Kelleher 1-0, S O'Sullivan 0-2, J Moynihan 0-1.

POBALSCOIL CHORCA DHUIBHNE – D Ó Conchúir; B Ó Beaglaíoch, C Ó Lúing, C Ó Súilleabháin; M Ó Flaharta, P Ó Conchúir, M Ó Conchúir; B Ó Súilleabháin, C Ó Beaglaíoch; T Ó Sé, P Breathnach, P Ó Dubháin; T Ó Súilleabháin, É Ó Conchúir, C Ó Bambaire. Sub: C Ó Muirthile for Breathnach (48).

DE LA SALLE, MACROOM – D Dineen; C Noonan, D O'Callaghan, K O'Dywer; S Creedon, S Kelleher, A Healy; P Kelleher, P Lucey; S Foley, J Moynihan, S O'Sullivan; P Berhanu, B O'Leary, J Murphy. Subs: D Cahalane for Creedon (h-t), M Cronin for Foley (43).

Ref – B Tyrell (Tipperary).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport